PDA

View Full Version : Tablets for digital illustration

Peter McCoy
Jul 15th, 2014, 06:42:56 AM
When I was in school I was very good at art. I used to love copying image sof my favourite characters from cartoons and videogames. Then during my GCSE years I studied Art in school which was mainly still life, things like fruit bowls and glasswear etc. To be honest it killed my love of art. I found it very dull and just not fun.

Since leaving school I've done very little in the way of drawing. I very briefly dabbled in wet-on-wet painting Bob Ross-style but gave up due to frustration that it was shite despite being my first attempt. I may return to that sometime.

But right now, I'm very much interested in getting back into drawing. More specifically, creating my own art rather than copying like when I was younger.

There's a program on sale on Steam right now called Black Ink (http://blackink.bleank.com/) which I'm planning on buying very soon. But I'm not even going to consider using a mouse for it. I plan to invest in a good graphics tablet but I honestly wouldn't know where to start. There's various magazines on the subject of digital illustration but I don't want to invest the money in those rather expensive magazines just to learn what expensive tablet I'm going to use with the already not-cheap software.

I've seen some tablets that have a high-definition screen so you actually look at the stylus as you draw and see it take shape right there, as opposed to drawing on the tablet with the stylus and having to look up at your screen to see the effect. Without knowing anything at all, I feel I'd prefer the tablet with the screen, but I assume a good one will be expensive. Is an iPad a good option for such a thing? Can it even interface with such software on a Windows PC? I really have no clue and wa shoping there would be some like-minded people on here (come on Christin!) to guide me in this endeavor.

Calloway Sharr
Jul 15th, 2014, 10:21:48 AM