PDA

View Full Version : Range Report for 7-30-04

Sanis Prent
Aug 1st, 2004, 10:13:15 PM
Well, this weekend was pretty fun. I was invited by SachielDVangel, a poster from Something Awful to come to the Fraternal Order of Police firing range in Birmingham, along with with another SA member named Drav, plus our very own Akrabbim and s'Ilancy. Its my first time to go to that range, so I was pretty stoked. Despite heavy rain early on, I can safely say that everything rocked.

Rifles we had were:

Remington 30-06 bolt action w scope (Akrabbim)
Beretta Storm 9mm carbine (Akrabbim)
Sporterized Yugo SKS with scope and bipod (SachielDVangel)
Romanian WASR-10 AK-47 (SachielDVangel)
Yugo SKS (Drav)

Pistols:

Springfield XD40 full size (me)
Springfield XD9 subcompact (Drav)
Sig .380, which I have forgotten the model name (SachielDVangel)
Glock 26 9mm (Akrabbim)
Beretta Neos .22 (Akrabbim)

Shotguns:

12 gauge, pistol grip, no stock. Forgot the model (SachielDVangel)
12 gauge, pistol grip. I also forgot the model of this one (Drav)

First off, we hit the rifle range, which was incredibly fun. Most of the time, we spent sighting in the SKS's and the 30-06 at the 100 yard steel plate. Also got to try out the WASR-10, but it wasn't really practical for plinking steel at that range. I enjoyed it nevertheless, and am convinced that its the next gun I want to buy. Oh, and sighting Akrabbim's 30-06 is eventually a bitch on the shoulder. Just thought I'd mention that >_<

The SKS's were very fun as well. I got comfortable with working the stripper clips, and finding my way around with it. It's a very fun plinker, either sporterized or vanilla.

We ended up bringing out the Storm carbine for kicks, which turned absolutely hilarious when I was hitting steel with it more consistently (iron sights) than Drav with the scoped SKS. The scope was slightly off, but it was still pretty funny.