PDA

View Full Version : Looking for temp monitors...

Mu Satach
Mar 10th, 2004, 05:39:20 PM
I'm looking for something I can use to monitor my CPU temp and log it for analysis.

I've looked at :
http://mbm.livewiredev.com/ (doesn't support my board)

http://mbprobe.livewiredev.com (still trying to figure out how to set it up, so far it just sits there. )

Anyway, looking for quick tips, tricks or whatnot about watching CPU temps as I'm a total newb and my CPU is having heating issues...

and yes my fan is working. ;)

danke!

Morgan Evanar
Mar 10th, 2004, 05:48:52 PM
What kind of board/chipset/model? Many manufactures make specific packages to do this. I can give you a hand if you give me more info. :)

Mu Satach
Mar 10th, 2004, 06:00:06 PM
Dell 4550 Dimension
Intel Pentium IV 2.4 512 integrated cache

Adia Issoris
Mar 10th, 2004, 10:41:19 PM
Ummmm... that doesn't really help, since intel made about eight chipsets which supports that config. i845? i865, i875? I'm really suprised MBM 5 didn't pick it up, since it should. Did you follow the detection procedure?

Mu Satach
Mar 11th, 2004, 12:31:21 PM
Processor, 80532, 2.4G, 512K, 533, SKN, C1
Card (Circuit), Planar (Motherboard), DIM4550, A/N

but it's now a moot point...

it's dead Jim. =P

later -

I get a new momboard & chip!
Hooray for me.

imported_Firebird1
Mar 12th, 2004, 01:04:52 AM
Dell...Overheat?

That should be covered under the License....

Mu Satach
Mar 12th, 2004, 02:07:35 AM
ummm... Hai!

This is the first time I've seen gooey stuff around the chip and heatsink... and the board is dead dead dead... a very interesting experience.

Titus
Mar 12th, 2004, 11:35:54 PM
Originally posted by Mu Satach
This is the first time I've seen gooey stuff around the chip and heatsink...

*blink*

[edit] Yeah, an overheat & meltdown should be under your Dell warranty, (I would think)

Figrin D'an
Mar 12th, 2004, 11:38:47 PM
Originally posted by Mu Satach
ummm... Hai!