PDA

View Full Version : Adaptation

CMJ
Dec 26th, 2002, 09:15:41 PM
Wierd, quirky, funny...

What an interesting film, but not one for everybody. If you've ever tried to write a screenplay though, this is a MUST see. I laughed really, really hard. The film makes fun of screenwriting conventions...then practices them...all the while following a loose adaption of a book(till the last act), that would be next to impossible to adapt.

Man, Spike Jonze and Charlie Kauffman(the team behind 'Being John Malkovich') are quite a tandem.

JonathanLB
Dec 26th, 2002, 09:30:59 PM
I'd love to see it, if it were open here.

Lilaena De'Ville
Jul 1st, 2003, 07:02:23 PM
Sorry to be a thread dredger but I FINALLY rented and watched Adaptation.

It was...sooo bizarre! It was funny and quirky...very quirky. I've never seen Being John Malkovich, so I have no background in Kauffman/Jonze productions. Was the Orchid Thief a real book then? I couldn't decide, and haven't found out anywhere else.

I've never tried to write a screenplay, much less adapt a book into a screenplay, but the writers block was VERY familiar.

I also liked the play on words, Adaptation applied to the process of adapting the book, and also the characters/orchids adapting to their enviroments.

ReaperFett
Jul 1st, 2003, 07:12:33 PM
It is a real book, which Kaufman was trying to adapt. Instead he made a screenplay about him trying to adapt it. Further more Donald, the fictional Kaufman, actually got writing credits, and would have been the first fictional character to co-win an Oscar had it won for Screenplay :)

Lilaena De'Ville
Jul 1st, 2003, 09:51:18 PM
That would have been awesome. It was pretty good, just not what I was expecting.

...I don't know *what* I was expecting, but that wasn't it. :D

Daiquiri Van-Derveld
Jul 1st, 2003, 10:01:16 PM
I havent seen Adaptation but I have seen Being John Malkovich. wouldnt it be awesome if we could get into other peoples' heads like that? :mischief