PDA

View Full Version : Driving restrictions...

imported_Grev Drasen
Sep 1st, 2002, 04:06:55 PM
This just so happens to be the board I'm at right now, so I'll dump my venting out on here for now. I'm 15 right now and I turn 16 on the 1st of October. For the past few months me and my dad have been looking at vehicles and prices, getting ready for whenever I can get my drivers liscense. Well, the only law in my state restricting teenagers from getting their liscense is you can't be a drop out, and you gotta wait 6 months with a learners permit.

I'm not a drop out, and I'm an average student. I'll go through the year with D's & C's, and then the last month I'll bust my ass to get in the B's and C's range. Well last year I let myself slip, it was Sophomore year and I didn't really care so I ended up failing 3 of my classes. Two of them were just some crap classes that didn't even matter. Well this year my state decides to pass a law saying you must be passing atleast 5 of your classes for the year to even get a permit.

This year I'm retaking those 3 classes, but I just got a letter in the mail yesterday saying I can't get my permit until I pass atleast one of these classes I failed, while passing all my other classes. I haven't let my dad in on it yet, and currently I'm still a little pissed about it. I can only imagine how he'll take it. I think he's more excited about my getting my license than I am.

I get how they're trying to get kids to do better in school, the kids who never really care in the first place. But people like me who go lazy every once and awhile, I'm getting the shaft. I picked the wrong year to screw up. So it looks like I won't be driving until my senior year in high school... which sucks.

Marcus Telcontar
Sep 1st, 2002, 05:06:38 PM
Linking getting a licence to school results?

That's sooo -DO-NOT-SWEAR--DO-NOT-SWEAR--DO-NOT-SWEAR--DO-NOT-SWEAR-ed up. You have a bunch of morons running the area

Admiral Lebron
Sep 1st, 2002, 05:08:07 PM