PDA

View Full Version : Football

Sanis Prent
Oct 23rd, 2001, 03:55:48 AM
I've played a lot of sports in my life. Some for grins, some in little leagues, and some for school. Baseball, Basketball, Hockey, Wrestling, Shotput (one of my favorites), Discus, Soccer, Rugby, Ultimate Frisbee (fun as hell), and even water polo...which is freakin hard and one of the most physically demanding sports around. Played backyard football alot, but I must make clear, backyard football and real football are the same in name only.

All of these were fun, and great sports to get involved with, but from the time I was 8 years old until I graduated high school, FOOTBALL was life. Utterly. No other game is as demanding, not just physically, but mentally and emotionally. No other sport demands 8-15 hours of practice each week for a single one-hour game. In that aspect, its very much a war-like endeavor. The more you sweat in peace, the less you bleed in war. I utterly dreaded practices, because they were three hours of blood, vomit, sweat, and sometimes tears. I've seen my buddies get mangled to the point of bone-splintering compound fractures. I myself have lost nearly a pint of blood from a collision-related full sinus hemhorrage, gotten fluid on my spinal cord more times than once from getting speared in the back, and had my knee slashed open until I could see bone. My best friend's had enough broken arms, ankles, knees and such that he should be needing cybernetic implants. He's still dealing with a bad back and terrible knees. Every winter, my left knee swells, and makes cracking sounds when I walk. All of us, hands, arms, legs, covered with battle scars, most of us have taken hospital trips more than we'd like. You think the pads take away the hurt? They invite more punishment than you can know. Ever run at full sprint from 40 yards out to hit a 270 pound all-state defensive tackle who bench presses 380 pounds and runs a 40 yard dash in 5.3 seconds? I'm not talking about those clot