PDA

View Full Version : In The Crosshairs: The necessity of Jar Jar Binks in Episode I

Pierce Tondry
Dec 31st, 2001, 06:04:47 PM
Welcome to the first of what I hope will be many Star Wars-related articles. For my column "In the Crosshairs", I intend to take issues and find their "bulls-eyes", their hearts, the central truths that surround these issues and post my findings.

I have heard it said too often that Jar Jar Binks has no redeeming value. At first, I agreed with this summary. However, as a writer I felt compelled to find the purpose behind his appearance. After all, if he's just there to suck in the kids, what true value does he have?

As George Lucas is the creator of one of the most popular franchises of Science-fiction literature, it seemed that there was likely a point to the appearance of Jar Jar Binks. I was determined to find at least one good purpose for Jar Jar, and I have. It comes from a looking at things from writer's point of view.

Jar Jar Binks is an adult simpleton. He is capable of relating to anybody. Adults find him annoying. Children find him silly. He finds himself quite normal, and for his situation he probably is. After all, no one has ever accussed Gungans of having brilliant intellects. Jar Jar is slow for his age (whatever that may be).

Anikan Skywalker is an aged child. At his age, he has seen more of the bad side of the galaxy than most people living in civilization's boundaries. He starts life as a slave. He works for a junk dealer and participates in dangerous Podraces. Mentally, he is wise and merely waiting for his body to catch up. He is advanced for his age.