PDA

View Full Version : How to build a Man in Carbon box prop

Randy5000
Aug 29th, 2001, 02:41:38 AM
No, I am asking if anyone knows the best way to make the box that I will put my man in carbonite onto/into when it arrives? I was thinking of a crude "wood" frame, and the prop would just go on top of it nicely, then spray painting it all the Gun-Metal gray would look nice. Then getting the panels to go onto the side...could look nice. OR it could look crappy.

Im not a pro at this, and Im sure someone can make a better case for the man in carbonite, but any suggestions as to what you might do for a case -?

xwing15
Aug 29th, 2001, 04:40:32 AM
I would go for the crude wood frame, then go out and buy a whole @#%$ load of styrene, and skin the wood with that. File/sand down the corners, and then stick it on. And use pics for references....

TServo4
Aug 29th, 2001, 05:58:20 AM
I'd say have like a ramp out of wood that you could prop it on at an angle. Padded, of course.

droidboy
Aug 29th, 2001, 06:31:18 AM
Someone offered a beautiful set of blueprints on here a while back.

Gregg

Natty15d
Aug 29th, 2001, 06:52:51 AM
The blueprints were put together by CKING.

Nathan

cking
Aug 29th, 2001, 07:43:46 AM
Hi there,

Here is the blueprint that I prepared for this project. I've got a talented craftsman lined up to make mine but right now, the Postal Service are trying to locate a payment that I sent to someone for the casting. It's missing and I sent cash unfortunately, so I need to wait until they've found out what's happened to it before I send another payment. :(

Here's the blueprint:

http://albums.photopoint.com/j/View?u=876411&a=6376697&p=51285156&Sequence=0&res=high

Send me an email and I will send the full size version to you so that you can print it out and read all the measurements.

christopher.king2@virgin.net

Kind regards,

Chris.

xwing15
Aug 29th, 2001, 08:26:17 AM