PDA

View Full Version : The Writing Process

Droo
Mar 12th, 2013, 09:37:57 AM
I'm going to be as terse as I possibly can here. One day, I want to be a published writer. It seems that, as I push thirty, there is nothing else in this world I'd be happier doing than making a living writing stories. And, like many of you guys here, I'm no stranger to the writing process, and by which, I mean my writing process, since the experience is surely different for everyone. Now, with that in mind, I can safely say that there are a number of inherent problems with my own writing process and, if I'm going to start taking my aspirations seriously, they need to be addressed.

First and foremost, I am a slow writer, a painfully slow writer. Once, I tried to take the NaNoWriMo challenge and not only did it not last long, but it also turned out to be an incredibly frustrating and depressing experience. I've listened to countless authors talk about how it is imperative writers breeze through their first draft (and at a formidable pace, too, when deadlines are involved - which is often) and then return to the work for redrafting, editing and polishing the whole thing until its ready for publishing. This, I cannot do.

When I write, I trudge through sentence after sentence, editing and re-editing as I go along. Whether its language, sentence structure, repetition, alliteration, metaphor, rythmn, whatever - I cannot help myself. The perfectionist in me will nag as I move onto the next paragraph, reminding me of my own dissatisfaction, which in turn affects my enthusiasm for the rest of the work. This inner editor we're instructed to ignore, and are told to, at best, make notes for future revisions. That's one reason I write slowly.