PDA

View Full Version : really boring conversation about chess.

Wyl Staedtler
May 17th, 2007, 11:12:15 PM
Does anyone know an easy way to explain the difference between checkmate and stalemate to a ten year old? There's this kid in my building who's mum works a few jobs and he comes over sometimes. We were watching 'Searching For Bobby Fischer' a few months ago and he asked me to teach him chess. I'm a lousy teacher though, so far all of our lessons have gone like this.

Me: Okay Sam, so let's say you only have your King (you're the black king) left. He's on h8. I have my Queen here on h6 and a Rook on g1. What's happening?

Sam: Checkmate.

Me: Nope.

Sam: Uh, yeah.

Me: Your King isn't in check. So it's not checkmate.

Sam: How am I not in check?

Me: You're only in check when your King is being attacked by another piece.

Sam: Aren't I being attacked? I can be captured. So I lose.

Me: The point isn't to capture the King, it's to trap him.

Sam: But he can't move anywhere!

Me: Right.

Sam: So it's checkmate!

Me: No, he's not in check, so it's not checkmate. It's stalemate.

Sam: Huh?

Me: There are no possible moves, but you aren't in check, so it's a stalemate. The match is a draw.

And then inevitably this kid gets all frustrated and stops enjoying the game, which is a pity because he's caught on to everything else really quickly. I don't know how to explain the whole concept of 'check', 'checkmate', and 'stalemate' to him any simpler.

Any ideas?

Yog
May 18th, 2007, 02:27:02 AM