PDA

View Full Version : Why forum-based RP's?

Marc Xavier
Jan 25th, 2005, 08:04:18 PM
I spoke briefly with SWFans.Net and asked permission before posting this here, I was instructed to put this in the OOC forum as it was the most apropriate place.

My name is Julius Harper, I am a student of the University of Southern California. I'm posting this thread (and surveys like it) on various star wars related websites centered around CCG RPing, PBeM, forum-based and MUCK/MUDD role play. As I mentioned above, I contacted the admin at your site and asked for permission to include your Role-Play Group as part of my survey sample. I was given the impression I'd have my best luck here.

The survey consists of three open-ended questions about role-play in general, I tried to keep the survey short because nobody likes to fill out long forms. One of the advantages to folks here in filling this out would be that, by giving feedback, you might very well posit some suggestions that could someday be implemented here at SWFans, to make the RPing experience even more enjoyable. But of course, anything like that would be up to your admin.

With that said, the questions are below:

Why do you use forum-based role play instead of PBeM, or card-based RPG's, or even MUCKs?

Have you ever tried alternate forms of Role-Play (PBeM, MUDD/MUCK etc)?

As someone who does forum-based RP, what do you think could be done to improve the experience or gameplay?

Feel free to be as short or extensive as you wish, and you don’t have to answer all the questions if you don’t want to (I just don’t want anyone answering question 1 and 2 and then getting stuck on 3 and not submitting their answers). Every little bit of input helps.

General Dan
Jan 25th, 2005, 08:24:41 PM